PhD Research - Research - Geography - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Current PhDs

Map of Current PhD Students - We have students from all over the globe. Have a look at the map for an overview of where our current PhD students have come from to study Geography at UC.

Heather Cohen Karen Banwell

Email: karen.banwell@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 3047, Room 346
Heather Cohen Heather Cohen
The paradox of post-disaster creative spaces
Email: heather.cohen@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7931, Room 501
Niamh Donnellan Rajasweta Datta
Study on the Microclimates of glacial systems and meltwater availability in the Dry Valleys of Antarctica
Email: rajasweta.datta@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 210349886, Room 507
Niamh Donnellan Niamh Donnellan
Measuring the built environment for active transport
Email: niamh.donnellan@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 4686, Room 343
Paul Goodhue

Email: paul.goodhue@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7975, Room 605
Kerryn Hawke Kerryn Hawke
How synoptic weather patterns and local convective trigger mechanisms influence spatial and temporal patterns of lightning in New Zealand.

Email: kerryn.hawke@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 4842, Room 401
Huong Do Thi Huong Do Thi

Monitoring and evaluation of Water-related climate change adaptation interventions, Case study in Thai Binh province, Vietnam
Email:  thi.do@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7943, Room 607A

Su Young Ko
Earthquake-flood multi-hazards & lifelines systems
Email: su.ko@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7910, Room 409
  Anmeng Liu
Land and community in rural China 
Email: Phone:
Kierin Mackenzie
Indigenous food resource gathering
Email: kierin.mackenzie@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 extn 7943 Room 607A
  Hamish McNair
Crowd sourcing spatial data supply chains
Email: Phone:
Levi Mutambo
Spatial Data Infrastructure and Volunteered Geographic Information
Email: levi.mutambo@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7577, Room 605
Bob Noonan

Bob Noonan

Email: bob.noonan@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7943, Room 607A

Berton Panjaitan Berton Panjaitan
Community awareness anad preparedness for potential large scale earthquakes and tsunamis
Email: berton.panjaitan@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 3859, Room 342
Grant Pearce

Email: grant.pearce@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Jane Pearce Jane Pearce
Transportation cycling practices: affording sustainable mobility and social equity?
Email: jane.pearce@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Frans Petersendt Frans Persendt
Developing a Flood risk assessment framework using flood models, remote sensing and GIS in the Cuvelai Basin, Namibia
Email: frans.persendt@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7910, Room 409
Rasool Porhemmat Rasool Porhemmat

Improving discharge estimates in a snow-covered mountainous catchment using modelling and remote sensing tools
Email: rasool.porhemmat@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. Room 410

Trias Rahardianto

Trias Rahardianto

Email: trias.rahardianto@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7943, Room 607A

Aditya Saputra

Aditya Saputra

Email: aditya.saputra@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7919, Room 504

Tobias Schulmann Tobias Schulmann
Interdisciplinary, multiscale and multitemporal assessment of land cover change trajectories
Email: tobias.schulmann@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7943, Room 607A
Daisuke Seto Daisuke Seto

Email: daisuke.seto@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 7926, Room 607
Colette Starheim Colette Starheim
Spatial, temporal, and morphological dynamics in sediment-laden gravity flow deposits
Email: colette.starheim@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
George Williams Alison Watkins
Spatial Microsimulation modelling for health in New Zealand
Email: alison.watkins@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 4047, Room 343
George Williams George Williams
How does bicycle infrastructure affect bicycle commuting?
Email: george.williams@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext. 8839, Room 343
Jesse Wiki Jesse Wiki
A geographic analysis of the built environment, obesity and diabetes in New Zealand
Email: jesse.wiki@pg.canterbury.ac.nz Phone: +64 3 366 7001
Jesse Wiki

Tingting Zhang
Development studies,community economics and ecological migration of China
Email: tingting.zhang@pg.canterbury.ac.nz, Phone: +64 3 366 7001